Many people believe that family has the strongest influence on a child’s development, while others believe that external factors such as television, friends and music play a big role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether relatives can change the way that kids develop their own personality or if colleagues and media have a major influence on their development. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe the arguments that parents have the biggest role are stronger. There are people who argue that the benefits of fathers and mothers in the kid’s behaviour considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that juveniles, in general, see their family as models of people that they should follow to become successful people in future. A second point is that children usually spend more time with their parents than anyone else, what increases the chances of seeing their parents’ good actions. For instance, a survey of Havard University showed that many individuals tend to seek partners to have a relationship with the same personality that their fathers or mothers have. On the other hand, others believe that there are diverse ways that can influence kids' development, such as media and friends. It is often argued that kids change their mindset while they are becoming older. People often have this opinion because after some years, the youngsters began to watch videos and listen to music that they appreciate most instead of what their family like, and these small details have a big impact on their attitudes. A second point is that friends can make them change their mind easily and convince them to act such as a different person. For example, in high school where some teenagers smoke to be known as a “cool guy”. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that although colleagues and streamings have their enormous role, the family continue to be the most important people that help a child to develop because of the amount of time they spent together.