Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether new buildings should be constructed just the same as the architecture of the ancient ones or should houses be built freely as the owners wish to. In my opinion, I totally agree with the second notion and give my own reasons below. On the one hand, the main reason that people should use the old building structure is to preserve the traditional and cultural value of that area. If all the houses in the same street have a totally identical appearance, it can be a good method to attract tourists’ attention to come and stay. Let’s take Hoi An ancient town, which is one of the most tourist attractions in the center of VietNam, for example. As can be seen along the street, the houses of many residents here are constructed in the traditional ancient architecture. Therefore, thousands of visitors often visit this place to take photos and learn more about the history of Hoi An - one of the most famous trading ports in the 17th century. As a result, people can not only preserve the traditional housing style but also are provided more jobs to make ends meet thanks to the developing tourism. Besides those undeniable benefits of putting up buildings with the same outlook, I totally disagree with this opinion when it comes to constructing a place for people to live in for a long time. First and foremost, it is really annoying and irritating when living in a place that people have to use their savings without any right to choose their favourite design. This can make folk, especially the youngsters, feel uncomfortable because each person has their dream house, for people have the basic civil right to choose the building style that they really desire to live in. Furthermore, most old houses in Viet Nam are erected by using a lot of wood which is really not environmentally- friendly and also costs a fortune to purchase. Hence, building a modern house can help people save a huge amount of money and help to protect many forests. All in all, although there are some reasons why people are encouraged to build their house in the same way such as conserving traditional values and improving living standards for many citizens. I do believe that the house owners should be allowed to erect their houses in their own way.