Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theatres and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund?

With the scarcity of public money, wise choices need to be made to allocate the money. A segment of the population believes that spending on art and culture will be advantageous to the citizens, whilst others hold a contrarian view. Some believe that art and culture should be supported by the government because the costs involved are high. For example, governments would have to spend large amounts of money to acquire good specimens of art and culture to enhance the quality of collections of museums and art galleries open to the public. When people attend cultural or sporting events especially those held away from their location or place of residence, they are absolutely exposed to the lifestyle and culture of the host communities, and this in most cases results in learning the ways of life of those people. In addition, attending sporting events is a great way to take some time off work and relax. Another challenge is sporting and cultural events attract people from different life, religious and cultural backgrounds, and they are an opportunity to make new friends and build relationships. For example, personally I encouraged my family to watch the FIFA world cup 2018 event which held in Russia. Finally, others believe that government spending should not be used to support art and culture as there are more important needs for the funds. This in turn may boost the livelihood of the people, and eventually grow the net revenues of the nation. Overall, people attend cultural or sporting events are absolutely exposed to the lifestyle and culture of the host communities. Also, sporting and cultural events attract people from different life. Government spending should not be used to support art and culture as there are more essential needs for the funds.