In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

In contemporary society, there are many people working harder than others in both school and the job market. In this essay I will elaborate on the way in that the reason why someone will work harder than others and illustrate my personal perspectives which working hard may bring detrimental effects individually and socially. One fundamental reason is that people are pressurized by their families and societies. Taking students in China as an example, there are thousands of fresh graduate’s flows in job markets per year, whilst the supply of a proper job cannot meet the market demand. Therefore, if students want to find a decent job, which means they need to devote much more than others in order to improve their competitiveness. For another, people who decide to escape from poverty and create a completely new life. Leading an impoverished life is incredibly challenging, which is a stimulus to diligence in the workplace or at school. Lastly, there are some people interested in the academic field and had a passion for the job they are working. This explains why they feel considerably more motivated, enjoyed, and willing to dedicate their whole life to do the things they deeply love. Even though people can reap a multiplicity of benefits from hard-working, working extremely also brings some demerits. On the personal level, top academic performers and people who frequently work overtime, which always with studious habits and Cervical vertebral diseases. Also, such a high-pressure environment and excessive workload will result in somatic and psychological problems such as headaches, backaches, and distress. On the societies level, immoderate hardworking will result in a social phenomenon called ‘Involution’ which define as a process in which additional input cannot produce more output. In such involuted society, ordinary people ’s living pressure rocketed. But the additional efforts do not promote the development of society. As a result, people are losing their sense of happiness more and more, they are being pushed forward, lacking the enthusiasm for work and life. In conclusion, people in different situations have different reasons to work hard to achieve their personal goals. Although working hard is beneficial in some aspects, people work very long hours, to the detriment of their health.