Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recruiters often ask job applicants about personal details such as their marital status and what leisure activities they enjoy. Certain folks are of the opinion that it is necessary and important, others however disapprove. This essay will explain why some may think their private lives have nothing to do with work, but why I believe these questionings are important. An employer might want to know more about a potential employee. Therefore he/she would ask personal questions. This is because a person's private life can affect their work performance. For instance, if someone is a victim of abuse whether,by a spouse or immediate family, this can affect their confidence level. This will reflect in the quality of work they put out. A company should have all the details of whomever they want to potentially hire. Furthermore, there are a few companies that respect family values. Asking questions relating to what staff does for fun or their relationship status only gives an idea as to how they will relate with this person. For example CarterCo. sends married staff members and their spouses on yearly vacations. Knowing your details like this will enable companies like the aforementioned to draft the appropriate employment package for each employee. Nevertheless, others are of the opinion they can separate their personal lives from their occupational duties. They believe these two aspects of their lives should be kept apart. For example, some companies are known to treat single people (especially women) with less respect. They think the married folks are more responsible, hence they are promoted and appreciated more. In conclusion, a handful of recruitment officers ask about an applicant's private life. This essay discussed why asking such questions are deemed inappropriate but why I agree that knowing more about a potential employee is needed.