Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, recruiters often ask candidates applying for jobs for personal information, such as their personal preferences and marital state. While it is the opinion of some that this information is irrelevant in hiring process, I would agree with those who believe that this information is beneficial and has an integral part. To begin with, the primary reason why some people disagree with this trend is related to privacy concerns. This is because there are some people who are rigorous about their personal life, and they do not welcome answering such questions to strangers; hence, if they are asked about their lives during interview, they will probably feel insecure. Moreover, some inefficient employers might leak their company’s personnel information to a third party such as salesmen, in the sake of personal interests. As a result, this is would be an illegal breach into people’s personal lives. On the other hand, the fundamental reason for asking candidates about their personal life is basically to determine the best work environment for them. For example, there are some jobs that require specific skills such as analysis skills. Therefore, recruiters need to know if someone likes chess or not. In addition to this, these questions can reveal whether the mindset of the potential employees would be compatible with current employees as most companies now rely on collaboration and communication between its employees more than qualifications to achieve the best outcome. In brief, asking such questions is most likely worthwhile for individuals and corporations. By ways on conclusion, although taking people’s personal information when hired might cause some issues such as privacy concerns, I opine that the merits of this development are far more notable.