Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house?

Recently, it is important for people to determine which type of accommodation that suits them. While some people believe that living in a house is better, I would agree with those who argue that living in a flat is more advantageous. To begin with, there are several reasons for why some people prefer to live in a house. Firstly, houses are often spacious as they allow to have multiple rooms for many purposes such as bedrooms, living rooms, or dining rooms; therefore, houses fit families who have a lot of members such as parents, offspring, and elderly people. Secondly, since most of the houses are separated from each other by fences or trees, they therefore provide a privacy for its owners as they would not be bothered by their neighbor’s noise, or feel others are less intrusive by others. On the other hand, there are two main advantages of living in apartments that eclipse the benefits of living in a house. From an economical perspective, most of the prices of flat rentals are much cheaper in comparison to house prices; hence, they are affordable by the majority of people whether they are students, working people, or even small family. Secondly, most of apartment buildings are more secured rather than houses. This is because there are most likely surveillance cameras covering most of the entrances and exits of these building. What is more, there are often security guards or intercom systems that contribute in preventing burglars from breaking into the building. By contrast, most of the houses are merely secured with door locks which can be broken easily by thieves, and there is a less chance for having an advanced alarm system that is costly to install. In conclusion, although there are obvious benefits for living in a house as they provide more space and privacy, I opine that the merits of living in flats are more significant as they are economically convenient for many people and more secured than houses.