A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We live in a world in which everyone is judgmental to the extent that one often makes inconsequential remarks in regards to things that do not affect one in the least bit, such as if other people are driving a Lamborgini or if they are carrying a Hermes bag. It seems as though old fashioned values such as honour, generosity, and trust do not amount to much in today's condemnatory world. Apropos of the statement, I am in part in accordance with it. It is inarguable that a staggering number of people only consider how their connection can bring advantages to them when befriending someone. For instance, one might think twice before making friends with someone who is kind but impoverished, as there is no benefit that is likely to stem from the connection. On the flip side, ingratiating with someone who displays ostentatious wealth might be more auspicious for one in the future. Similarly, one from a wealthy family might feel hesitant to befriend someone who is struggling to make ends meet, seeing as the latter is not on the same level as one in terms of social status. Also, there is no guarantee that one will not be on the receiving end of bullying if one befriends someone of a lower status. Case in point, kids from my school will not let Jaycee hear the end of it because she is friends with Elaine, a driver's daughter, notwithstanding the fact that Elaine is trustworthy and dependable. In contrast, I also believe that it is unreasonable to stereotype the whole society based on the behaviour and way of thinking of some people. Like the aforementioned case in which Jaycee is willing to befriend Elaine despite being bullied, it shows that it is possible for some people to value trust and generosity over social status. To sum up, while it is commonplace for people to hold a higher value of material possessions and social status in this overcritical world, there are also people who value old fashioned values more and they are not to be overlooked.