In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason for this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

Shopping is the favorite past time of many people, especially teenagers. Some consider shopping as a mode of entertainment instead of providing basic amenities to people. This trend is due to globalisation and consumerism and in my opinion, definitely a positive development. Globalisation has brought the world together. Because of this change various supermarkets and shopping malls have opened up in the cities which lure the public to visit these places and increase their sales. Additionally, with the increasing standard of living and higher salaries people do not hesitate to buy new products. Movies also have a role to play in this change of mindset among the people. The designer chothes showcased on TV are aspired by many individuals, thus making shopping as an entertaining hobby. There are two reasons why this trend is a positive development. First of all, increased buying of goods improves the economy and GDP of the country and furthermore resulting in increasing job opportunities. According to recent data, malls are a major source of employment for people. Additionally shopping uplifts the mood of shopaholics improving the secretion of dopamine which is a reward promoting hormone. At the same time anything in excess is harmful so caution needs to be excised. To conclude, globalisation and consumerism has changed the way in which people shop with complete transformation from basic shopping to converting as an hobby. Overall this trend will benefit the country as well as the individual.