It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

It is a common tendency in many nations that pupils do not prefer science as a subject and opt for other subjects instead. Many causes could surface for the same. This could result in some detrimental effects on society, especially in the long run. To begin with the reasons, it is a common mindset among students that science is a rather difficult subject. This results in a few students interested in studying science since they believe they might not have the required aptitude. For instance, in India, it is observed that about 60 per cent of learners choose commerce instead of science during higher secondary studies. Furthermore, students nowadays are keen to earn quick money after completion of studies. However, science as a subject consists of a longer period of studying which delays the opportunities to earn quickly. Lastly, it is believed that the pay scale is comparatively lower in the business sector. Therefore, ultimately this reduces the number of pupils wanting to study science. Nonetheless, this might have various detrimental effects. Firstly, the world today is totally dependent on science and technology, hence more people are required in the sector. Lesser people opting for science might result in a lack of advancements which might ultimately affect the country's progress. This might also affect the healthcare sector since healthcare is dependent upon scientific developments to a major extent. Thus, in a nutshell, it can be stated that the number of learners choosing science as a subject for studies is declining which may result in various long term consequences.