Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, social sites are becoming more familiar among people of different ages. Despite the fact that social media has many advantages such as better communication and entertainment, some people claim that it has drawbacks if users share their personal data unwisely. From my perspective, I believe that the pros of social media outweigh the cons for the reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are several benefits to using social websites. In other words, they help people make their lives easier, interesting and more sociable. First, they enable their users to communicate well with each other in spite of the long distances among them. For instance, during the lockdown due to the coronavirus, using some social applications such as Snapchat, zoom, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook provides people with many opportunities to keep in touch with each other effectively. Second, as most people tend to spend their leisure time in enjoyable ways, social media allows them to take part in many online social activities. For example, young people prefer to play video games with friends from different countries using social media. However, using social media sites has its drawbacks. To clarify, many users may publish their personal life routines publicly. This might do harm their privacy and cause them many troubles. As a result of sharing their personal details on social media platforms, some people were exposed to many crimes such as kidnapping, blackmailing, bullying and v. People who share their life incidents unwisely may become victims to hackers and criminals that can make use of such details in an illegal way. Hence, it is important for social media users to be careful while sharing their personal details. In conclusion, after analyzing both sides, it is not hard to see that the benefits of social media outweigh its drawbacks if it is used wisely and carefully. However, social media users should be more cautious about what they share publicly.