One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there have been a lot of changes in medical care due to technology. Because of advancement in the medical field, there has been a rise in the rate of life expectancy and people are living for a longer span. I believe that despite of having some benefits, this trend has more drawbacks which cannot be overlooked. To commence with, there are some demerits of people living longer. First and foremost, a higher expectancy rate means that there will be over population since the death rate will be low. This can create burden on the government as they will not have sufficient amount of basic necessities to provide to its residents. For example, In India, due to over population, people do not receive basic requirements such as food, clothing shelter and education; as a result, it leads to a higher poverty rate of a country. In addition, people can struggle to get a job because of high competition, as a result of this unemployment rises. Lastly, it also creates excess expense of pension on the government and private companies. However, there might be some advantages of this trend which can be beneficial to the economy and business. The primary advantage is that the nation can have better productive workforce as people not often fall sick; as a result employees will take few holidays and increase efficiency at workplace. This may help economy to boost to some extent. Another possible merit is that experienced people can make better decisions at work, so the more experienced staff will be present the better growth of the business is expected. Hence, sometimes it can be advantageous. In conclusion, mortality rate have reduced in last few years due to advancement in the medical facilities. This has positive effects to some extent but there are more disadvantages of this trend which causes more problems such as over population, unemployment and so on.