It is better for boys and girls to study separately rather than in mixed sex classes. They are less distracted and this leads to better results. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that boys and girls should be educated in separate classes instead of co-educational classes as they are able to concentrate better in their studies and hence, they are able to improve their performances. This essay agrees with this statement as each gender are like chalk and cheese and thus, different teaching strategies should be adopted to educate them effectively. It is an undeniable fact that boys learn differently than girls. Usually, boys understand more through physical activities while girls prefer interactions and discussions and thus, teachers should be able to apply different methods of teaching accordingly. As a matter of fact, students in separate gender classes are able to concentrate better in their studies as there are no distractions from the opposite sex. For example, According to an educational study carried on students’ performance, it has been found that female students in single-sex classes obtained better math grades than those in co-educational classes, with an average performance of approximately 7-10%. This is because there is no competition against each gender and so, they are more able to concentrate. Consequently, there may be a lack of diversity from the students as they do not have the opportunity to listen to the perspectives of the opposite sex and hence, they fail to gain a broader understanding of each other. This may have a dire impact on their understanding of each other’s mindset. For example, research on working environment illustrates that worker who has studied in single-sex classes later experience transitions problems when joining the workplaces. Likewise, boys who have studied separately from girls are found to be shy in front of the latter. Thus, co-educational classes would have been an opportunity to share each other’s points of view as well as better understand their approach. To conclude, even though the co-educational classes present opportunities for the youngsters, I firmly believe that single-sex classes are the best ways to educate each one as they would be able to concentrate more on their studies with appropriate teaching strategies and avoid distractions which may offset their learning process.