In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative situation?

In many nations around the world, to own a house is most crucial for the people instead of living in a rented one. This essay will consider various factors behind this, and the negative impacts this situation bring in people's lives. The native people of certain countries have tendancy to purchase their own houses. This is because owning a house is considered as a prestigious thing and also people do it from an investment point of view. On contrast, people in my country often think a person is poor if he does not own a house. Another key reason, the population considers while purchasing a house is that - it will serve as an investment in the long run. For example, one of my friend has purchased two flats in India, just for the investment purposes. There are negative factors involved in owning a house rather living in a rented one. To buy a house, there is often heavy home-loan is involved. Because of this, people tend to pay large amount of hard earned money to book a house. This makes people to lose huge sum in one go. This amount can be easily invested in the Mutual Funds or bank schemes to generate more money instead of spending it on the house. For instance, one of my friend took a house worth 50Lakhs and paid 30Lakh as a down payment to the Bank, which he could have kept as his retirement funds to earn high interest on that. In conclusion, though owning a house is seen as reputable thing, but people often get involved in losing their lifes' savings just to own a house and cost of houses decreases day-by-day, which is definitely not an attractive thing to do.