In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

In one or the other way, competition has always been a part of students ’ lives where some perform well and others underperform. Some consider that students should be motivated to be in a competition with their schoolfellows. Encouraging students to be in a competition with their classmates is always advisable, but by creating a healthy competitive environment where everyone wants to help each other in learning and understanding the subject. For example, whenever children study in a group, they tend to share their ideas with one another and also try to help those who are struggling with their studies. Hence, students should always be motivated to take the competition in a positive way. On the other hand, for some students to be in a competition, develop a negative feeling towards their fellow mates. This is mainly due to the pressure; they feel on themselves of always performing well in the class. For instance, children sometimes create a feeling of hatred when they score less marks as compare to their friends. Thus, it is the parents’ responsibility to make their children understand how to approach any competition in a friendly way. To conclude, being in a competitive environment is good only, if it is considered as an opportunity to learn and help each other.