People who were born in rural areas often move to big cities when they become adults. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays migration to urban areas is occurred to be popular among those people who were born in rural areas. One of the main reasons for this rural exodus is different levels of economic development in rural and urban areas. In my opinion, this tendency has a significant negative effect on the development of not only the rural areas through decreasing population but also cities due to reducing the standard of living among urban communities. To begin with, the root cause of rural migration is that people in the countryside are not able to get all the needed facilities, such as schools, hospitals, business activities, and cultural opportunities. This is because most facilities and services are concentrated in urban centres due to the larger population. And those few services, available in countrysides, do not provide sufficient quality. As a result, the already small rural community tends to move to urban areas looking for better opportunities. For example, having carried out the poll among the youth generation aiming to move from rural to urban areas in Kazakhstan, researchers mentioned that more than 60% of people living in rural are moving in search of great opportunities that the city may provide. In my opinion, the trend of rural exodus harms the progress of rural areas as it reduces the local community. As a result, the shortage of economically active rural population decreases farming activities and boosting the unemployment rate. Moreover, on no account should the consequences of the growing urbanization be ignored as it leads to overcrowding in urban centres and is made worse life for city dwellers by the causing social tense. For example, urban areas with an intense flow of movers from rural areas are subjected to a higher crime rate due to a lack of appropriate workplaces for newcomers. To conclude, internal migration from rural to urban areas due to the fact of different levels of economic development of these areas leads to a deterioration in the living conditions of urban residents, as well as negatively affects the prospects for the development of the countryside.