In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Watching the news, whether on television or in newspapers, is becoming more poular among youngsters in many countries. It is important to take steps to improve the situation, particularly related to bad or painful news such as harassment, rape or deaths. In this essay, we will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. There are several causes why reading the news has been increased amongst young people. One reason is that wars are rising in some countries. By this I mean, as a result of increasing political problems, reading the news everyday may grow among its adolescents. For example, the young people who are living in Syria in very bad circumstances, consequently they are always reading updated news to be able to expect their country's future. Another reason is that the pandemics which suddenly occurred had their effect on the range of reading the news. What I mean by saying this is that people are exposed to unpredictable communicable diseases which lead to high mortality and morbidity rate. Consequently, the proportion of reading news will increase dramatically among young people to update their awareness related to these new diseases. For instance, during the coronavirus time, many schools and universities closed as precautionary measures. This has a huge effect on young people, increasing the anxiety level amongst them. All this may lead to a growing rate of watching the news. Nevertheless, there are multiple measures that must be taken by governments and international bodies to address the problem. The first solution would be that the presidents and political representatives should work immediately to stop the conflicts in their countries. In other words, substitute reading the bad news, which is a feast among young people, with reading romantic novels or entertainment activities and leave them to live their age. In conclusion, it is clearly there is no doubt that reading the news is an increasing worry issue among young people. Actions must be taken urgently, otherwise, we will face unexpected problems in the future.