In some parts of the world, the rate of divorce has increased dramatically over the past few decades. Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

In many areas globally, the percentages of divorce have increased significantly over the past years. I believe that some of the reasons for this trend are hectic lifestyles and less support from extended family. There are, however, some solutions that can help with the presented problem. Many people in today's world are living very busy lives. Workplaces are often highly demanding and require people to work overtime and on weekends which doesn't leave much time for family life or recreational activities. As a result, personal relationships are nurtured less, and over time, the cracks begin to show. Additionally, another reason for the increase of divorce comes from families receiving less support from extended family. These days, there is a huge trend towards the nuclear family model, whereas in the past they used to include extended family members too. More people helping out with childcare and general house chores meant that there were overall more moments to maintain and care for relationships. A possible solution for this issue could be trying to simplify everyday life. Perhaps trying to swap a high-paced job for a less demanding career means that there is more time for other things, such as relationships. For instance, it might mean that switching off the phone and other devices for an agreed evening midweek, will free up more occasions to care for loved ones. In some cases, it might be possible to move closer geographically to extended family so that more help can be received for childcare and other things. On balance, I think that busy lifestyles and a shift to a nuclear family structure are responsible for the increase in divorce. Relatively simple shifts in our daily lives, like for example switching to a less demanding job, or turning off mobile devices, could offer a solution to this problem.