Many Countries wants to host international sports events, while other countries think that hosting sports events has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many countries in the world consider sports as part of their culture and have enormous respect. Some people think that hosting the international sports event can has numerous advantages, while others think that its a depreciating asset to invest in. In my opinion, the country should host the events considering whether the event will upscale the nation's economic growth and jusify the cost involved. One of the reasons is that sports events are recognized on large scale and they have tremendous ability to reach the majority of parts of the world. Although such events require enormous participation and planning from many countries in the world, the economic outcome can boost the nation's growth exponentially. Take, for instance, Olympics; Japan in 2013 was in numerous news channels and billboards all around the world. As a result, the tourism of the country was increased by 10% alone in a year. On the contrary, one major issue to consider is expenditure and whether the taxpayer's cost is justified using in such an event. Furthermore, such gigantic events require enormous infrastructures such as, stadiums, ski parks, swimming pools etc. and not to forget they are only used during the event. Take, for example, Manchester Stadium; it was designed specifically for the Euro world cup football tournaments and later demolished due to new government policies. Therefore, such a cost is not economically advantageous to the country and shall not be entertained. In conclusion, I agree that hosting such events should only be considered if there are enough profitable advantages. Nevertheless, I believe that, if the expenses of the countries are better managed then the advantages of this activity will outweigh its disadvantages.