Some universities make student’s specialized in a single subject; other universities make students take many subjects. Which policy do you think is better? Use examples and reasons to explain.

In the modern world, science and technology have spread their roots in each and every domain which makes it impossible to imagine a world without them. A particular sector of the society holds the view that, college students must have the freedom to study subjects of their choice. Although, others opine the opposite and want them to pursue their academics in futuristic domains linked to science as well as technology. In my opinion, other verticals are as essential as technicals, in shaping the future. To analyze the former view, it can be said that all subjects have their own respectable position in creating the present world and will continue to contribute for a better tomorrow. Although, each subject is related to each other in one way or the other, it must be understood that each subject still holds its independent requirement. For instance, fossil and DNA discoveries would not have been possible without technology but at the same time invention of airplane had not taken place if we would have not understood the biological nature and structure of birds, which helps them to fly. Into the bargain, subjects like arts, add to the natural and cultural heritage of any nation, hence cannot be neglected. Therefore, it must be left to the interest of the students to advance their education in a subject which they are more attracted to, as it will help to bring out the best in them and further help in new developments. However, the advocates of the other viewpoint see things differently. To begin with there is a question to be analyzed which is “How can science along with technology determine the future, making them so important?” With the advancement of technology, escpecially in the fields of artificial intelligence and machine learning, bots are being created which are smart enough to handle other subjects making the need to study them obsolete. To epitomize, I recently read in an article that around 70% of the customer service centers will be handled using robots by 2030, making the art of learning customer interaction and satisfaction outdated. Interestingly, human intervention will still be needed to teach those robots and make them capable of learning from their environment which can not be possible until human themselves study about these subjects. To recapitulate, a close scrutiny of the various aspects of the subject in question leads to the fact that, in near future various subjects will be closely coupled together but will individually still be necessary to drive generations in a forward direction.