Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

There is considerable controversy over whether grandparents should live together with their extended families or whether older people should live independently. I will now discuss a few valid arguments from both sides before I come to my conclusion. On the one hand, there are various reasons many people support the idea that grandparents should live with their children. The first thing is that family members should be able to expect a higher level of emotional support from their elders, especially when facing life's difficulties, such as scandals. Second, if you are living under the same roof, you will spend less on necessities such as food and utilities. You will also enjoy your life more. Although there are arguments against it, I strongly believe that elderly people should be encouraged to become as self-reliant as possible. The first advantage is that it will boost their self-esteem and protect them from a mental decline when they get older. It is scientifically proven that the possibility of getting mental diseases in old people who live independently is the lowest. In addition, it is a sorrowful fact that many younger families these days do not have the housing space or even spare time, which is necessary to take care of their grandparents properly. Finally, many older members may not have the chance to visit their grandchildren frequently, making their visits all the more meaningful. Overall, deciding whether grandparents should live with the extended family or live independently depends on people's wishes, circumstances, and choices. However, many arguments lean in favor of grandparents living more independently.