Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is acknowledgeable that foreign films are more popular in many nations than domestically produced films. There are numerous reasons why this is the case and I believe that governments should promote local film -making by subsidising the industry. There are various reasons why many people find foreign films more enjoyable than the films produced in their homelands. Firstly, the established film industries in certain countries have huge budget for action, special effects and to shoot scenes in spectacular locations. Hollywood blockbusters like “Avatar” or the “James Bond” films are examples of such productions and their global appeal is undeniable. Another reason why these big-budget films are highly successful is that they star the most prominent actors and actresses and they are made by the most accomplished producers and directors. Hence, the poor quality and low-budget film -making suffers in comparison. In my view, governments should support the local film industries financially. In every country, there may be talented amateur film-makers, who just need to be offered the opportunity to prove themselves. To compete with big-budget productions from overseas, these people have to pay a fortune for film crews, actors and a host of other costs related to producing high-quality films. If governments sponsored these costs, they would see an increase in employment in the film industry, income from film sales and perhaps even a rise in tourist numbers. As an illustration, New Zealand has seen an increase in tourist related to the “Lord of the Rings” films, which were partly funded by government subsidies. In conclusion, I believe that increased financial support could help to raise the quality of locally made films and allow them to challenge foreign productions that currently dominate the market.