The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident, as people all over the world wear the same fashions, use the same brands, have similar eating habits and watch the same TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

The world today we live in has changed rapidly around us, and with the advent of globalisation people belonging to different culture and backgrounds are spreading across the globe. It’s true that this has lead to people adapting different culture and values apart from their own. Although, this trend has many positive aspects, one cannot ignore the negative side to it. Globalization has played a major role with shaping different culture around the world. Nowadays, people belonging to different ethnic group can no longer be differentiated because of the way they project themselves in terms of the dress they wear or the choice of food they have. With the technological advancements people across the world are aware of the latest trends in the market through the advertisements shown on television and social media. Every country in this world has access to all the major brands an arms away, and this ease of access and variety of choices lure many people to buy their products. Furthermore, this brings in the cultural change where people take preference for these famous brands over the local market. The very thought of looking presentable and confident makes people to try different things apart from their traditional upbringing. Many believe this is very much important for their personal growth in different walks of life. For example in a country like India has been impacted hugely because of globalisation, where people take preference for modern outfits over their traditional wear as the society they live in demands it. Even when it comes to food, Indian people have developed a strong liking towards the various international cuisines. This trend is found all over the world, and is making the cultural distinction lesser by each passing day and paying way to equality among different ethnic groups. On the contrary,when we look at these cultural changes that’s happening around us, is in turn making us apart from our ancestral roots and tradition. People are so immersed in this modern culture, one can hardly distinguish them from one another irrespective of the place they originally come from. Undeniably, this has had a huge impact on the local produce. The local businesses has shown a considerable decline of consumers over a decade now and this only makes the big industries even richer and small industries poorer. In conclusion, certainly the positive effects of modernization can’t be ignored, however its equally important to preserve ones culture and traditions.