Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

It is widely noted that these days, many youngsters tend to spend more of their free time in shopping malls. Even though it is required, it should not always be the case and in my opinion, pastime activities should include recreation. Firstly, with the current pace of real-estate development, people have limited choice and opt for outings to places like malls or plazas. Such activity is fine during a weekend when a family can visit the cinema or a restaurant and engage in social bonding. However, it may not always be the case because in the current economy, the expenditure has risen and income remains stagnant. Invariably, a family tends to spend a lot on products that are not really required. For example, an article found on 'TIME' magazine stated that people shell out as much as their salaries on shopping and are unable to save for the future. Moreover, a lesser number of open spaces are available as compared to older times restricting the crowd to choose such big complexes for an outing. These activities may not be recreationally effective, whereas, opting to go to locations like indoor stadiums or playing turfs can bring about a health benefit. Furthermore, there are many such locations where multiple artificial lawns are set up for physical games with a varied range of prices. For an instance, the magazine 'Health' surveyed that there has been a tremendous increase in people of all ages visiting such turfs in a span of two years. To conclude, shopping can be done for required produces and leisure but not very frequently. Instead, opting for physical fitness would benefit the public health-wise.