People after retirement often require financial assistance. Should the government be responsible for this or should the individuals make provisions for themselves? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Monetary assistance after retirement is often required by people. While many people argue that government should be accountable, others believe that individuals are responsible to make arrangements for themselves. In my opinion, I agree with the former to an extent and this essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, a number of people trust that the governing body should be in charge of providing financial help to working professionals after stopping work. The principal reason for this is that civilians pay a hefty amount on taxes in their whole lifespan and should have the privilege to avail monetary benefits. The people in power should create and enhance pension schemes for taxpayers. According to a law on pension in New Delhi, a civilian gets only INR 3000 per month which is unreasonable and requires attention. On the other hand, many people believe that individuals should be responsible for arranging funds after withdrawl from work duties. Working professionals avail a number of benefits throughout their work experience and get equal opportunities to earn and therefore should be capable enough to provide cash benefits to themselves after retiring. On an average, a person earns INR 60,000 monthly which should be enough to keep a certain amount on the side for retirement. For example, opening a recurring deposit account will be beneficial for them. In my opinion, the government should be responsible to provide funds to taxpayers as they pay a large amount on taxes via gas bills, food, road tax, etc. To conclude, the average salary of a person is not enough to pay bills and save for the rainy days as the rate of inflation is steep and for this reason the government should make pension schemes in order to help people after retirement.