Writing, reading, maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skills should be the fourth largest branch. Agree or disagree?

Firstly, in today’s employment market, computer literacy is essential for most well-paid jobs or simply routine desk jobs. In order to pursue a successful career, to have better job prospects, promotion opportunities, and to move up the career ladder, employees of all ages must be able to apply computer skills to many of the tasks which they have to perform. Schools must ensure that students have a good grasp of computer skills as essential preparation for the world of work. Secondly, computer skills are demanded of all students wishing to enter higher education or even to pursue most vocational courses. For example, an enormous amount of research has been published on the internet across the whole spectrum of disciplines. If students lack the necessary skills to access these materials online, they will probably fail to make the grade and complete their studies. Students with computer skills can also take advantage of opportunities for distance learning through video conferencing and the college intranet. Finally, in terms of leisure and social life, computer skills enable people to join social networking sites, such as Facebook or chat rooms, or to maintain contact through Skype. Whether it is internet dating, chatting, downloading podcasts, or music, social interaction is almost unimaginable without the possession of some computer skills. In conclusion, socio-economic changes have revolutionized the daily lives of people, and it is essential that computer skills should be taught alongside numeracy and literacy in order to equip youngsters to face the modern world.