University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many students, university degree is the final step before facing the work-life. Education in Universities offer specialisation in specific career paths which the students want to pursue for their future. There is often a debate among people especially employers that the graduates with the required educational qualifications often lack other day-to-day skills. I completely agree with this debate and believe that eduacational institutions should introduce additional skills required as per the current scenario in the job market apart from the core subjects. To begin with, Every year there is millions of fresh graduates searching for their desired job in the business world. Most of them find it extremely difficult to secure their desired jobs in their specific field. This is blamed on the collegues / Instutions who fail to implant other crucial skills in their students. For example, As per a survey conducted in India, students from accounting background lack knowledge about IT skills such as excel and other accounting softwares software's which are used by almost all businesses. Even if the candidates are well educated with solving problems on paper they may not be able to secure a job without training. Futhermore, Since there is a great competition among applicants in a particular stream students are likely to switch to another career path. For example may young professionals tend to switch from Engineering to business studies due to availability unavailibility of job and surplus of engineers in the market. Introducing some aspects of business studies in engineering syllabus can benefit the freshers to switch without much difficulties. To conclude, adding subjects to a already hectic syllabus will have some difficulties for the tutees but overall will bring more benefits for the future. Hence, i strongly agree that unviersities should include a range of other subjects along with the core subjects.