Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Mostly in developed countries the students have the previliage of opting for a gap year before commencing their life at the university, which is predominantly used for gaining real life experience and travel. This essay will shed light on whether this is any good or just a waste of time and effort. To begin with, as it has already been well reasearched and the findings have pointed out that education outside of our books can often teach us vital life experiences and develop inherent abilities to tackle the real everyday life, whereas just relying on books to get knowledge will not only limit our ability to see the real world outside of the school walls but also deprive us from the reality which is often far away from the contexts of our books. On the other hand, there are people who stroll believe that taking a break from studies is nothing but a waste of time, which is no way productive or useful, but I strongly disagree with this notion, as taking time off and going abroad to witness a different culture and learn the lifestyle and language, will not only add colours to our monotonous student life, but also teach students how to deal with challenges and how to handle pressure situations as mostly students go to their travel alone or with their friends but not their parents or elders which is what most students are used to, being around our guardians and feeling cocooned and well protected from any extremities, but, when we are alone and directly in line to face the world on our own, we tend to learn how to get over them as well and that's the skill which will come in handy in every day of our future. In conclusion, students taking gap year to gain experience, whether from travel or working somewhere to gain work experience was, is and will always be far more productive and the benefits of the gap year far outweigh any shortcomings that few people tend to outline. Hence, this practice should definitly be encouraged and implemented by every school and college.