In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Dependence on the railway has increased a lot in recent times due to the increase in population. As a result, some parts of society opine that a large amount of money should be invested to build new railway tracks to connect between different cities, whereas others think that money can be used to upgrade existing public transport. Both perspectives have their own weight. So a critical evaluation is required before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, railways are becoming essential in developed countries to help the growing population. The main reason is many people can afford travelling from railways than airplane and its a fact that fast trains can save more time than other transport. Moreover, countries which are massive in size and large in population require more fast trains to travel longer distance for working population. For example, the Chinese government had invested billions of dollars to construct new trains routes to fulfil the growing population demand. On other hand, the benefits of enhancing the current public transport can save lots of money that can be used in effective way. Countries with less population doesn't need new public transport as they can focus in making environment friendly transport system such as electric buses. Public transport is a thing that people use daily and upgrading the facilities make sense rather than rebuilding new transport system. To conclude, both sides of the argument concerning about making a better transport system. Both statements have their own advantage but in my view upgrading public system can be a good option because it can be cost-effective.