The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Since the advent of gadgets such as smartphones and tablets, which are mostly used for entertainment, people have been arguing about the effect on individuals and society itself. I believe that handheld devices are detrimental for people as they might cause health deterioration and affect the efficiency of employees due to addiction to smartphones. To start with, the increase of average screen time- the mean amount of time, which is spent in front of the screen per person, promoted a commonness of eyes issues. This was concluded by the research of NHS which states that the share of people with vision deterioration in 2015 increased by 60% in comparison with 2005; in addition, this investigation found a direct correlation between the mean screen time of people and the percentage of people with vision deterioration. Hence, devices can be considered as harmful. Furthermore, the availability of entertainment on smartphones and other portative gadgets brought an opportunity to use them more frequently in comparison with other sources of entertainment such as TV. Consequently, some people obtained addiction, which leads to lower efficiency as workers can be easily disturbed. The recent research of the University of East Anglia which was released in 2018, states that employees can waste up to two hours daily due to messengers, social networks; therefore, portative devices seems to be detrimental. In light of the thoughts elaborated upon, I would like to conclude that handheld devices are harmful to citizens as they promote health issues and reduce the work capacity of people as they are distracted by phones and other gadgets.