Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Undoubtedly, the number of automobiles has grown significantly over the years. It is argued that an increase in price of petrol is the most appropriate measures to alleviate the problem of heavy traffic and pollution or not. In my opinion, this topic is hugely debatable, but I am convinced that there are several other methods to solve this issue and this essay will examine those methods. Some people believe that if the price of petrol rose markedly, the corresponding reduction in the number of car owners will be noticed. Due to the high cost of driving private car, people may opt for other alternative transportations that have less expenses such as buses and subways. However, I reckon that other effective solutions can be considered. This is because the growth in petrol’s price not only pushes the burden to consumers but also cannot sustainably reduce pollution and congested road. There are a host of recommendable solutions of this topic. The most relevant one is that government should develop public transportations which are reliable and accessible in order to persuade citizens to travel by public transport. For example, most of Japanese travel by trains and buses because the transit systems cover most of areas in the country and the transit systems are very punctual. As a result, travelling by public transportations is more preferable than driving private automobiles. Another mean is the invention of electronic cars which can be driven by using electricity. Thus, there will be a substantial drop in petrol usage and the problem of pollution may be improved. In conclusion, the solutions given can more or less help decline the number of traffic and mitigate the problem of pollution. Government and citizens should join hands in order to eliminate these problems at the earliest stage for the betterment of environment and people’s well-being.