In many countries senior positions have higher salaries compared to those of young workers of the same company. Some people think this isn’t justified. Do you agree or disagree

While it is common that senior staff get higher pay than juniors in most countries, workers, especially those in lower positions, feel discontented with such practices. Personally, I accord with such policy with justifications as below. To embark on, people at the management level have better experiences and thus should be valued more based on that. Experienced workers are more competent in handling not only day-to-day operations, but also work -related emergencies. Additionally, they can provide career guidelines or share work wisdom with those less trained which are valuable to the company. This also explains why subordinates are encouraged to take part in seminars hosted by experts as a way to improve their job performances. On the other hand, some may claim that this is unfair to the youngsters as they may work round the clock but get less paid. It is always those who are at lower levels who do all the tedious work while their superiors just wait for it. Yet, the one who does all the work earns less. Not to mention, they tend to be assigned undesired work duties which means poor job satisfaction as well. To sum up, I am contented with the idea that more experienced workers get more salaries, not because of their work wisdom, but because they need to take more responsibilities and risks at the same time. For instance, when the company is under financial crisis and needs restructuring, those with higher salaries normally get laid off first, no matter how well they have performed. Therefore, given all those years they devote to their jobs and the risks are taken, they deserve to be paid more.