Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Food is the basic need to survive in life. Some people argue that food science and cooking skills should be learned in school while many people debate that student should utilize their time in learning main subjects. I believe that more emphasis should be given to academics but food study should be parallelly taken into consideration. In this era, people should have knowledge of nutrition and should know how to cook food. Firstly, food study can help gain the knowledge of nutrition so people might have control over what they are eating and they can even design their own regimen. As said before, cooking is considered a survival skill, as nowadays people relocate to different cities for jobs or further education, therefore they have to manage various things like financial stability, cleaning, shopping cooking, and so on. Thus, if humans have the ability to survive any conditions, they will have confidence and will be independent in life. Moreover, if students want to study further in either hotel management or to become nutritionists, food study will be a beneficial subject for them. On the other hand, academic subjects like social science, math, language are also important as this provides the foundation knowledge which will help an individual to smoothly transit into the professional and competitive world, if an individual fails to do so, they be depressed or stressed out. In this modern world, an individual having information about several subjects is also very advantageous. To conclude, although food study and cooking is a necessity, academic knowledge is as important. Therefore, I believe time management should be done in order to learn both the subjects.