Some people believe that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers instead of benefitting them individually. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools are considered to be the lighthouse of a nation, and if education is the backbone of a nation, schools are the place to build it. However, the main objective of academies is a never-ending debate. I agree that a school's main purpose should be to turn students into honest and good citizens and making them ready to work for society instead of turning them into selfish money-making machines by helping them individually just to be ready to get a job. First, the main purpose of education is to build up an enlightened nation where morality, honesty and integrity would be the key characteristics. They would keep aside their personal ambitions, and work together for the betterment of the country. Since a school is a place where pupils' education is taken care of, its chief objective should be to focus on nurturing morality and good human characteristics among the students while also preparing them for their careers that would benefit society. To exemplify, if talented and experienced doctors treat patients only for the money, healthcare for all would be a distant dream. So, to build a nation where people will help each other instead of turning into money-making machines, we should focus on our education system, especially what we teach our children. Second, states spend a lot of money to keep the schools and their education system running. A major portion of this spending comes from the tax money. From this regards, if schools plan to adopt an education system where teachers’ sole purpose would be to teach children how to be personally benefitted from jobs or businesses, the whole education system would collapse. We have to be very careful while educating our children. What we teach them in their early stages would shape them, and if the schools fail to teach them to become ideal citizens, it would be a great concern in the future. Moreover, personal benefits, good grades and better career should not be the main reasons children attend schools. They should attend schools to become enlightened members of society. In conclusion, making ideal citizens and dedicated workers should be the true objective of our schools. The greater good of society, the bright and prosperous future of a nation, and the personal achievements of individuals are connected with the way we teach our children in schools and that is why our education should focus on morality and quality.