Many cities have become less pleasant places to live in recent years. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is said that the city life quality has been decreasing over recent years. Although the shortage of housing and traffic congestion are serious issues, I believe there are solutions that can address these problems. One major problem is the shortage of housing because the number of people has been increasing in this century. Some negative effects are that inhabitants of cities have to pay the higher price of cost of living and the difficulty of finding accommodation. One possible solution would be for the national government to enact a law to limit the number of people in each city. For example, in 1979, the Chinese government mandated the vast majority of couples in this country could only have one child by the One -child policy, which alleviated the social, economic, and environmental problems associated with the country's rapidly growing population. Another major problem that plagues cities is traffic congestion since it causes lots of carbon dioxide while it is time-wasting for citizens during rush hours. The main cause in most cities is using cars is more popular than in the past. For instance, in Malaysia, most people use their own personal cars due to the lack of public transportation. One solution would be for municipal governments to build out the local train and subway lines so that the people destinations are expanded. This would not only reduce the people ’s carbon footprint but also relieves the density of vehicles on road, thus reducing congestion. Even though issues with housing and traffic activity are major concerns in metropolitan areas, I think these solutions would be effective, I suggest that if citizens could collaborate with the government to tackle these problems, it will be a tremendous improvement of quality of life.