Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The traffic grid has expanded to satisfy the increasing demand for public and individual transportation. However, getting to the workplace has been prolonged even though the authority has made an effort to manage the city routes to offer more convenient and practical solutions. In this case, one part of the public would advocate this municipal measurement; on the contrary; the other would show the opposite opinion. In my viewpoint, I would rather stand with those objectors. Admittedly, the main merit of maintaining urban greening is to counteract the multiple pollutions during industrialisation and modernisation. Moreover, the parks and gardens can ease the domestic and working pressure of the population. For example, a central park has always equipped a social function which is gathering local dwellers around. Meanwhile, it can lower the exhaust emitting and noise making from the traffic congestion. In short, it is rational to upgrading the public transport system instead of replacing the parkland. However, the city centre is an urban complex of running businesses and providing job vacancies; the preference should be to live in an apartment building near it. A clear example is that the realistic phenomenon, the growing number of vehicles during the morning rush hours are appearing on the road, urges the policymaker to implement an action to broaden the traffic lanes by sacrificing the public resources. That is to say; people could spend less time getting to the workplace. In conclusion, substituting the infrastructure, blindly, supposed to belong to the public well-being, in the name of solving the commuting problems, is not feasible for the development of a metropolitan. Therefore, I insist that the high proportion of urban landscaping is one of the core expectations from a dweller's perspective. In the future, city planning and end-to-end commuting solutions can reach a balance to diminish the argument.