Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world,increased sales of common commodities shows the capabilities of marketing;It does not show the demands of the community.I incline to the idea that marketing has influence to its entire population and also has contributed to failure in meeting demands owing to misplaced priorities. To begin with,promotional informations have led to the peer influence of impulse buying of commodities. Moreover,appealing images placed on different commodities attracts the consumers which paints a different picture from the real product being advertised; In addition,insufficient knowledge about the products by the consumers have also contributed to them being mislead by the marketing information that not only portray the positive image but also convince an individual to buy the given product. For instance buying soap because it has an appealing package to the eyes and not neccessarily the contents of the soap itself. Therefore,impulse buying is due to the influence of promotional messages. Secondly,the daily requirements of the community are not met,because those who are concerned with the promotional messages focus on making the profit from the population rather than fullfilling the demands of the target group further watering down the daily requirements. For example,more marketing of the products will increase buying because a fool and his money are easily parted. Further more, the society will not be able to stand agaisnt it's daily requirements. In conclusion, promtional messages have a greater impact on individual's decision making on buying commodities and also have a significance in meeting the daily demands of a given community.