Some people think living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that living in metropolitan cities brings negative effects on health. I totally disagree with the statement due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in this essay. First of all, relocating to large cities brings several benefits to one’s physical wellbeing. It is noticeable that many health -related facilities are located in the city nowadays. For instance, there are a lot of fitness centres built around the city. As a result, people living in cities tend to exercise more frequently mainly due to convenience and easy access to fitness centres. Moreover, it is common for city residents to arrange regular appointments with a dietitian. In fact, this is usually a benefit provided by big corporates based in large cities. A dietitian can evaluate a person ’s nutrition intake and generate a diet plan specially designed for the person. Crucially, by maintaining a healthy diet one can build a strong body. As a result, living in big cities can result in the improvement of physical health of a person. Next, mental health can also be maintained in a healthy state if a person is living in a large city. Apart from easier access to psychologists compared to rural areas, metropolitan cities provide a wider range of entertainment, which can reduce the stress level of a person. For example, watching movies and getting a massage are both proven to bring positive impacts to people ’s minds. In large cities, people can choose from various kinds of activities and relax for a bit, relieving stress and tension built up from their daily lives. Therefore, the mental health of people living in metropolitan cities tends to be more stable.