The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Over the last few,decades numerous people have migrated from rural areas to cities for work which has caused serious issues in both places. In my opinion, this migration has caused an imbalance in the density of population in the cities and the labour shortages in villages. This essay will highlight the problems and also the solutions to tackle it. Firstly, every year countless people move to cities for better lifestyle and employment opportunities, which have made the area extremely dense and expensive. Although these workforces have immensely helped to shape the metropolitan cities in the various areas, the overpopulation and price surge due to high demand is one of the major causes of concern. As a result, due to the increasing demand for housing and resources people tend to pay double the actual price for any item or service. Secondly, there are labour shortages in the suburb for farming, as adults have moved to cities, this could negatively reflect on the agricultural sector of the country. For example, In Java a small town near Jakarta, most of the farming and manual plantation work is being done by women and children due to the shortage of labour. One of the solutions to handle this situation is by giving more employment in villages through building industries and by paying more to farmers. This will encourage them to stay in the suburb and make a better living for themselves and their families. Furthermore, these solutions will also help to overcome the population problem in the urban areas as fewer people will travel to cities. For instance, Reliance Industries in Jamnagar have helped the villagers for over a decade to get numerous job opportunities and have help earned a better living. In conclusion, if the government can build better job facilities and increase the farmer's wage in the villages then we can balance the residents in both rural and urban areas. In addition, this can also control the expensive and excessive demand for goods and resources in urban areas.