Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the advantages and disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employment is becoming attractive nowadays. Many people prefer this path over being an employee. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of being self-employed. An increasing number of individuals are moving away from working for companies and gravitate toward having their own business or working as freelancers. Being self-employed has many advantages. First, it gives the person flexibility regarding working hours. For example, if someone is working for a company, they will be committed to come to work at a certain time and leave at a certain time. This makes it hard sometimes to manage personal commitments, like dropping and picking up children from school. Second, having a private business can have unlimited potential for growing wealth. For instance, Jeff Bezos started a small company selling books online, and as Amazon grew in size, he became one of the richest people in the world. Third, some people don't like working for someone else and having a boss. Hence, self-employment gives them the opportunity to do what they like without the downside of being managed. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages of having your own business. Firstly, there is no regular stream of income,especially at the beginning. This can be very frustrating for a household responsible to feed a family. Secondly, there is no clear career path. This ambiguity and lack of structure are not easy for anyone to manage. Thirdly, being employed by an organisation comes with many benefits which self-employed people are deprived of. For example, airline companies employees enjoy the perk of travelling on standby for free. Moreover, all companies offer health insurance which can be very expensive for someone managing their own business. In conclusion, self-employment can be very attractive for some people for the benefits discussed above. However, there are some drawbacks which makes some people uncomfortable with it. I believe both paths offer good potential and people should choose according to their preferences.