Nowadays people normally stretch their working hours and get stressed than before. What are the reasons for this? What employers can do to make people's life easier?

In recent years, due to long working hours, the public suffers from a wide range of problems, such as mental diseases and limited time to spend with their families. I believe this phenomenon results from technological development, globalisation and encouraging organisation' atmosphere. Employers can tackle this issue by encouraging senior members to go home earlier. As the first reason for this trend, employees are required to manage a considerable amount of tasks owing to the progress in technology. With the prevalence of technology, labourers have been able to carry out their job anytime, anywhere as long as they have mobile phones. Consequently, the amount of work has increased as they can communicate with their partners regardless of time and place. Secondly, globalisation extended working hours. In spite of the increasing potential of business opportunities, the citizens are required to catch up with time differences. Staff members have to either wake up early or stay up until midnight when they have meetings with overseas corporations. Finally, workplaces' meritocratic atmosphere to encourage employees to work harder is responsible for this tendency. The method of evaluation for promotion has changed. Lately, managers tend to prioritise workers' ability than personality or royalty for their companies. As a result, for pursuing better performance, employees are likely to stay in the building, aiming at honing their skills and showing off their passion. To deal with this problem, I argue that firms should motivate senior members to go home. Since senior employers are not working and other workers are not able to report or consult to them, the young generation has to stop their job. In conclusion, by the virtue of advance of technology, internationalisation and workplaces' atmosphere, people come to work for long hours.