To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

Art can make any boring place extremely entertaining. Over the last decade, there has been a tremendous decline in the unique piece of art, and as such, ordinary works are considered great artworks. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement, as nowadays artists are not getting the much-needed attention for their effort. To begin with, in the past, artworks were evaluated by one's talent and uniqueness in the work. Nevertheless, the artists exercised their talents and skills to bring out unique results. For instance, MonaLisa by Leonardo Da Vinci is considered one of the greatest masterpieces in history. In addition, the recognition they received from the authorities made their efforts progress. For example, in the Mughal days, kings supported the development of arts, and it is evident from the rich literature and art forms we see now. On the contrary, in the current scenario, importance is not given to the actual work of craft, however, the person who created it matters. If a celebrity created any form of art, even though it is worse, not only everyone starts praising it, but also willing to spend an absurd amount of money to purchase it. To illustrate, a small piece of craft created by the daughter of the political leader was sold for one million dollars even though that person was not known for this trade. Just because someone wants to get into the good books of the political leader they promoted it shamelessly. To conclude, compared to the past, where people are recognised based on their talents, nowadays only influential people are getting credit for their works. If government and boards act together to promote great works, only then masterpieces will be created.