International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations.

Today, more and more travellers choose to go abroad for their vacations. However, this can be a double-edged sword for countries which draw large numbers of tourists. This essay will address the positive and negative effects international tourism has on visited countries. Looking first at the positive aspects of rising levels of tourism, we can see that the most obvious benefit is that more money is brought into the country. This can provide a significant boost to the national economy since tourists spend money in hotels, restaurants and shops. Moreover, tourism also creates more job opportunities for local people because companies in the sector will require more staff, reducing the rate of unemployment. Investment in tourism infrastructure, such as roads, railways and airports can also benefit local people due to the fact that these are not only used by visitors. Last but not least. tourism raises the profile of the visited country on the world stage, giving the country an opportunity to show off its culture, food and natural beauty. In terms of the drawbacks, international tourism can lead to overcrowding due to the large number of visitors. As a result, existing infrastructure is put under considerable pressure and this may inconvenience local people. Furthermore, hordes of tourists can create more pollution and waste, which can have a detrimental impact on the environment. In addition, although the money from tourism can be said to support local culture, the commercialisation of cultural heritage can dilute traditions. For example, indigenous people may be forced to put on demoralising or degrading shows for camera-wielding visitors to earn money. Finally, there may be a culture clash between local people and visitors whose behaviour could be perceived as rude or unacceptable if they are not familiar with the local customs. In conclusion, while tourism can bring many benefits for the visited country, it also has a number of drawbacks. Therefore, we should seek to mitigate the negative effects when promoting a country as a suitable tourist destination.