A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

There are many places, which generate revenue only from travel industry because of its sightseeing, unique developments or it's own history. It’s the big responsibility of locals and authority to manage this well otherwise there is the huge cost to bear. In this essay, I will be discussing its positive as well as negative impacts & how to make these benefits sustainable. On one hand, touristry gives the local residents an opportunity to showcase their culture & to promote it to the nation or even global level. For, instance the Sapera Dance, a famous dance form from Rajasthan has been given an international recognition and this could happen because of the tourism and its proper showcasing. With the increase in people coming to visit a place, it gives a push to the hotel business and travel agencies, food industry, so it also generates employment, entrepreneurship. On the other hand, touristry is nothing but the commercialisation of beauty, which has its own cost if not managed well. First main disadvantage is the increase in pollution which deteriorate the air quality. In absence of stringent rules & regulations with heavy penalties, people coming to visit the place may harm or damage the local properties. To promote the industry, there will be urbanisation i.e cutting down the trees etc. because of which it loose its charm in long run. To sum up, benefits of the tourism industry are undeniable, however there are negative impacts also which cannot be ignored. In my perspective, with rigid laws in force will definitely help to maintain this sustainable source of revenue for the economy.