Some people believe that technology such as mobile phones has destroyed social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

In nowadays, smart phones have become ubiquitous and people are so engrossed in them that they are cut off from their surroundings. That is why some public hold the view that these gadgets have had an adverse effect on social interaction. However, I disagree with this notion. A number of arguments surround my opinion. My first argument is that mobile phones have not destroyed social interaction, they have merely changed the way people interact with each other. Now people don't meet each other face to face, they are connected to each other through this marvel of technology. Various apps are there through which people are connected even with long lost friends, and not just those in their propinquity. For example, my aunt met her old college friend, with whom she had lost contact 20 years ago, on a Facebook, and now they are constantly exchanging message with each other and new contact number also. Secondly, social communication has enhanced a lot because of these cell phones. Today's youngsters have the largest social network that ever in the history of the mankind. People can make friends with others of similar interests anywhere in the world. For example, if a person is interested in knitting, he can find a group of people who love knitting and join that group and share patterns with each other. Undoubtedly, face to face communication has come down, but that is not because of these cell phones. It is the fast paced lifestyle in modern time. Over the last half century, people's lifestyles have changed beyond their wildest expectations, and so they have become workaholics. This is the main reason for the loss of the social communicates. The mobile phones only help the public stay interconnected in today's time. To sum up, cell phones have not lessened social interaction, they have merely changed the way of interaction, and they have in many ways increased the social network of the people.