In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

There is a high unemployment rate among qualified graduates in many countries, especially the developing ones. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind that, as well as some recommendations to increase the employment rate. Many factors contribute to the lack of employment opportunities for qualified and educated individuals in many countries. The most important factor in my opinion is the lack of investments. For example, in Egypt, investments, both domestic and foreign, represent a smaller portion of the gross domestic product compared to the developed countries. The smaller the investments in manufacturing and other sectors, the lower the job opportunities, and the higher the unemployment rate. Another reason is the difficulty to start a company. For instance, the interest rates in Egypt are very high, which makes it difficult for a project to be economically viable, and therefore, people are discouraged to invest and start their own business. In my opinion, several things can be done to overcome this issue. First, the government in Egypt should take serious steps to encourage both local and foreign investments to create jobs. For example, new companies should enjoy lower taxes in the first ten years of operation. Moreover, the central bank should remove restrictions on the money flow inside and outside the country to lure foreign investors to come. Second, small investors should be incentivised by the government by giving them low-interest loans and tax breaks. Third, there should be an increase in public spending on infrastructure, education, and health to increase the number of jobs. To conclude, I think that the population growth in developing countries outpaces economic growth. However, if the recommendations mentioned above are taken into consideration, the unemployment rate will decrease.