Many people believe that education standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy.Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Education field has undergone enormous changes over the last few decades.Some of these are positive and some are negative. Many people are of the opinion that the standard of education in literacy and numeracy has deteriorated in the last few years. One reason for this is the immense exam pressure and a possible solution could be making learning more fun and focused on learning new things.The following paragraphs will discuss causes and solutions associated with this problem. The quality of education in languages and mathematics has decreased in recent times.One major reason for this is that today's education system places enormous importance on exam grades. For example, mathematics students in my country usually learn the concepts and theories as well as formulas to pass the exams.They don't try to solve mathematical problems and hence, are not able to answer any questions that are out of their syllabus. Students are constantly under the pressure of achieving good marks and hence, they learn things superficially instead of diving deep into the topic and understanding its concepts. On the other hand, this problem can be solved quite easily. This issue can be solved by reducing the importance we give to the marks obtained in exams. For example, students always say that they would love to learn a new language if there was no exam pressure associated with it. This way they can really understand its grammar rules by applying them in real-life conversations. Thus encouraging students to focus on gaining knowledge and understanding the concepts rather than passing exams can be very beneficial. To conclude, even though the present education system is responsible for declining education standards in areas of literacy and numeracy, the education standards can again be improved by reforming the education system and taking the focus away from exams.A student's main motivation behind studying should be to become knowledgeable and intelligent. Only then can the student pass their exams with flying colours.