In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive development or negative development?

It is undeniable that many companies misuse advertising and marketing promotions to gain trust of the public stating that their products are fresh and new in some way. In my personal view, I strongly believe that this would lead to wide array of detrimental consequences. What could be the reason for this approach? In fact, organizations strongly emphasise on their survival in the industry. This could be achieved only through profit maximization. Therefore, commercials on TV, radio, press and digital platforms are used to persuade customers somehow to purchase their services with the best business slogan or a message. Although, the produced item lack the required standard, the public might fall for attractive advertising campaigns. In my opinion, this trend cannot be accepted as an ethical operational conduct. To illustrate this further, such approach would pave the way for food manufacturers to promote non- consumerrable goods. For example, a recent investigation conducted in Sri Lank indicated that many food outlet owners store expired meat items and serve customers breaching the food safety standards. Despite this, their advertising claim that they offer freshly made dishes to the buyers. In addition, if businesses follow these types of unethical business practices, the standard of the consumer good industry will reach its lowest point where customers will no longer believe in marketing propaganda. Therefore, authorities ought to implement proper guidelines to avoid misuse of marketing communications in all industries. In conclusion, the freedom to use mass media and other communication platforms have created an avenue for some companies to unethically promote their products. Hence, it is pivotal that the authorities initiate mechanisms to protect the public from false advertising while ensuring that all organizations meet the expected standards in producing goods and services.