Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

News has always been a gigantic source of information across the world. Many proponents advocate the inclusion of international news as one of the subjects while opponents consider it to be a waste of time. Personally, I am in strong agreement with the former notion and the following paragraphs will expatiate both stances with lucid examples. To begin, those who are not in favour would argue that there are myriad studies that need focus rather than international news. They find physical education or meditation sessions more crucial and should be given priority because students are already indulged in the subjective concepts. For example,a yoga class can help individuals to revive and rejuvenate for the study of other primary topics. Moreover, these days digital media has emerged as a great source of any kind of news and events happening in the world and every school or college has provided the facility of the internet to access such content from the world wide web. So, dedicating a separate time for this subject would be unjustified. However, there are several benefits pertaining to the inclusion of international news as one of the cases. Every student must be cognizant of the political events at the inter-country level. Students are the future of any country and hence, they should have a fair knowledge of all the activities within the other countries, especially, those who want to pursue their career in foreign services. As an illustration, an art student might want to become a political officer in the Indian embassy, and it becomes mandatory for the students to gain insights into the day-to-day events of the world. Furthermore, nowadays, competition is not restricted within the country but outside it as well, therefore, students have to understand their formidable future opponents to prepare themselves on the same lines, especially, in sports programs. To conclude, I reckon that all the subjects are equally important and indispensable for the future growth of a folk. International news subject is a prodigious source to fathom knowledge about the world ceremonies and enhances the horizon of one's understanding at the global level.