More and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends. What dangers could result from this? How can these dangers be prevented?

Teenagers are now becoming more dependent on the internet for watching movies and socializing online. However, the internet could lead teenagers to watch harmful content. This essay aims to point out the dangers of using the internet and find solutions to prevent teenagers from being in danger. The internet has many dangerous contents that teenagers should avoid. Firstly, sensitive videos such as mass shootings or seeing a dead body with blood and organs out could affect teenagers to be traumatized and face nightmares during their sleep. Secondly, the danger of falling for scam websites by paying them large amounts of money expecting to receive something in return is highly common for teenagers to face. For example, if a teenager saw a good deal on a laptop and paid for it. The website may turn out to be fake and take the money by receiving nothing. The solutions to those dangerous situations online could be prevented by first, educating teenagers about the apps or websites that shows sensitive content. Teenagers will become aware of the sensitive videos shown and be more careful. Secondly, fake websites could be avoided by paying in a credit card that prevents fraud. For example, if a teenager gets spammed with money, they can call the bank and submit a fraud claim so the teenager could get the money back to the account. In conclusion, the internet is a dangerous place if teenagers were not educated about the dangerous apps that sensitive content might show. Falling for fake websites is also easy to get involved with. However, solution such as registering credit cards with bank fraud prevention will allow teenagers to shop online safely.